Monday, May 23, 2016

He gives food to those who fear him, he remembers his covenant forever. (Psalm 111:5)

Matthew, Chapter 21, verse 46:
46 And although they were attempting to arrest him, they feared the crowds, for they regarded him as a prophet.

They also feared the crowds because of Jesus. Fear is a natural reaction and when we fear something we naturally do one of five things. We either: fight, run away, do nothing, compromise or grow. The whole of the bible are stories of people both good and bad making choices. Some of people’s choices were good and some were evil; but it was always the spirit of God that urged men to make choices that caused growth in humankind; to create a Kingdom of God on earth.

Both John the Baptist and Jesus were marked by the priests and elders for death because they threatened their power over the people which they feared. Like savage beasts they killed anything that got in their way.

According to John Maxwell[1] leaders lose their right to selfishness and must take the lives of others into account before their own. They must testify to the truth and tell people what they need to hear rather than what they want to hear. They must tell people where they have to go to grow the Kingdom and not where they desire to go.

Christ came not only to restore the Israelites but all of mankind into His Kingdom: The Kingdom of God. Leaders in the Kingdom must fear not and lead from principle rather than from reaction.





[1] John Maxwell, The Maxwell Leadership Bible, p 1072-1073

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Tuesday, November 4, 2019

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Sunday, February 3, 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019

Monday, February 4, 2019

Friday, June 28, 2019

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Wednesday, May 15, 2019